top of page

2016-2017 Tour the Classroom

The beginning of the year is always so incredibly full of new and exciting things. I can't wait to share my room with 26 special fourth graders whom I don't know quite yet. I made many different changes this year! I've tried to post links to where I found my materials and ideas.

The windows outside our doors have to be covered for safety reasons. I love covering mine with black paper because it makes neon colors pop. Before I put the black paper on the inside of the wall I put multi-colored squares that will eventually be the backing for the first day of school pictures. I then put a hashtag to explain the picture. Throughout the year, I hope to change the hashtag and the picture as we go and do fun things in our class.

Inside my door I have my new theme posters, you can find them here at my TPT store. I love that the kids are greeted by these themes and can't wait to discuss various themes throughout the year.

I decided to move my reading corner this year to the opposite side of the room. This allowed me to have an actual "space" where kids can hang out and find a new book. It also allowed me to sneak a few books into my extra lockers for added bookshelf space. That worked great with my larger books that always struggle to fit on my shelves. I got the idea of my tree on Pinterest (of course). To read more about my cable spool table click here.

I bought my reading bulletin board from TPT, click here to check out Amy Grosbeak's awesome store. I've loved her comprehension posters and her editable banners. I have used them so much over the past few years.

Last year, I went to a reading conference and was challenged to start a word wall. I had totally thought those were for K-2nd or maybe 3rd grade but I can't wait to try one this year with upper elementary. Students will record every vocabulary word we come across and color code them by subject throughout the year. The basket below has strips cut and ready to be filled out and taped on the wall. I'll let you know how it goes. I love the look and the idea, though the practicality might be a little overwhelming.

I realized last year that I was NOT utilizing my fourth graders like I should. They are so capable and I can't wait to give them lots of jobs this year. Since our school does trimesters, students will be assigned a job per trimester. My favorite job has to be my "Hedgie Handler,"students will be required to write a short paper on how to properly care for a hedgehog to be considered for this position. I also can't wait for my "Caboose" helpers. I always have a problem with student's fiddle-farting around after the class leaves the room. The caboose will always be the last ones out, making sure no students are left behind. These posters were a free and editable download from here.

This behavior chart was almost what I was looking for, I ended up editing it a little to meet my needs. You can download it in the original form here, free!

One of the scariest things about my room is my "Top Secret Graveyard". What?! Yes, this year I will be burying all the dead words students use over and over again and will be forcing them to choose words that are more descriptive and exciting. Besides, who doesn't like the idea of a secret graveyard inside a cupboard door? Grab the free tombstone PDF here.

I'm looking forward to open house tomorrow night! I have packets for the parents to take home with everything they could possibly want to know about everything in our room. There is so much to hand out for a new school year! It can be overwhelming for everyone. You can grab my Twitter Permission Form here!

I saved the best for last! My desk area holds a very special addition to our classroom this year. Hedgewig's home will be under my desk where I can regulate air flow, light and heat. I'm also allowing students of the week to sit down there during read-to-self time. I can't wait for her to meet the kids and see how she does as a classroom pet!

I'm excited to re-teach a grade level for the first time. There were so many great things about last year and so many ideas I have for this year. I look forward to the many opportunities I will have to influence and challenge this new class. What a grave responsibility and immense joy.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page